Header Bild

Department Physical Metallurgy and Materials Testing

History

Prof. Dr. Roland Mitsche

Prof. Dr. Roland Mitsche (1903-1978) was the first Chair of the Institute for Physical Metallurgy and Materials Testing, which was founded in 1940. Besides establishing the Institute, he initiated among others the following scientific events: the International Conference on Metallography in Leoben, the International Conference on Light Metals in Leoben and Vienna, and the annual Colloquium on Physical Metallurgy in Lech/Arlberg. In addition, he was great in admiring arts, culture and sports. He was one of the founders of the former Institute of Soft Skills and Sports and the Art Contest at Montanuniversität. Prof. Mitsche retired in 1973, but he still chaired the Institute for additional two years, till his successor was implemented. In 1973, the areas Metallography and Materials Testing were established at the Institute, which were active till the implementation of the University Law (Universitätsorganisationsgesetz) 1993.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Hellmut Fischmeister

In 1975, Prof. Dr. Hellmut Fischmeister (born in 1927) was appointed as the successor of Prof. Mitsche. Before that, Prof. Fischmeister was Professor for Physical Metallurgy at Chalmers Technical University in Gothenburg, Sweden. He laid special emphasis on quantitative metallography, powder metallurgy, fracture mechanics and the development of high-temperature materials. In 1981, Prof. Fischmeister accepted an appointment as Director of the Max-Planck-Institute of Metals Research in Stuttgart, Germany.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Franz Jeglitsch

Prof. Dr. Franz Jeglitsch (1934-2016) was initially heading the area Metallography at the Institute of Physical Metallurgy and Materials Testing. Then he was acting as scientific-technical Director and Manager at the Austrian Research Center Seibersdorf. In 1980, he was appointed as Chair of the Institute for Technology and Metallurgy of Non-Ferrous Metals at Montanuniversität. In June 1982, he accepted the position as Professor at the Institute for Physical Metallurgy and Materials Testing. Prof. Jeglitsch has been the rector of the Montanuniversität from 1987-1991. Between 1991 and 2000, he was active as a delegate of the Styrian Government, where he was responsible for research and development of the industrial area of Upper Styria.

Prof. Dr. Karl Maurer

For a short time, the Institute was chaired by Prof. Dr. Karl Maurer (1927-2014). Till his retirement in 1992, he was heading the area Materials Testing. He was in particular well known for his work on failure analysis.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Albert Kneißl

After retirement of Prof. Jeglitsch with September 2002, Prof. Dr. Albert Kneißl (born in 1952) was chairing the Institute for a short period of time. Prof. Kneißl was appointed as Professor in Metallography in 1996. His work focused on solidification of monotectic alloys under terrestrial and space conditions, on micro-alloyed steels and on shape memory alloys. From 2000 till 2003, he was serving as the First Vice-Rector of Montanuniversität. He retired with September 2012. With 1st January 2003, during his service as Institute Chair, the Institute was renamed to Department of Physical Metallurgy with the Chair on Physical Metallurgy and Metals and the Chair on Metallography.

Prof. Dr. Helmut Clemens

Prof. Helmut Clemens (born in 1957) was appointed in July 2003 as the successor of Prof. Franz Jeglitsch and as Professor for Physical Metallurgy and Metals at Montanuniversität, heading both the Chair and the Department. Formerly, Prof. Clemens was successfully engaged in the development of intermetallics (titanium aluminides) at Metallwerk Plansee, before he accepted positions as Professor at the University of Stuttgart, Germany, and later as Director and Professor at the Forschungszentrum Geesthacht near Hamburg, Germany. During his service as Chair, the Department moved to a new building, the IZW (Impulse Center for Materials).

 

 

Prof. Dr. Christian Mitterer

With 1st March 2001, the Chair of Functional Materials and Materials Systems was allocated as third chair to the Department, and Prof. Christian Mitterer (born in 1962) was appointed as new Professor. His focus is on surface functionalization of tools and components for automotive, aerospace, display and energy technology applications. Formerly, Prof. Mitterer was engaged as Docent for Surface Engineering at the Chair of Physical Metallurgy and Metals.

Prof. Dr. Ronald Schnitzer

In 2015, the Chair of Steel Design, which is funded by the FFG and the Austrian steel industry, was allocated to the Department and Prof. Dr. Ronald Schnitzer (born in 1981) was appointed as new Professor. Formerly, he was employed at voestalpine Böhler Welding Austria as the head of the Research and Development Department.

Header Bild

Department Metallkunde und Werkstoffprüfung

Geschichte

Prof. Dr. Roland Mitsche

Erster Vorstand des 1940 gegründeten Instituts für Metallkunde und Werkstoffprüfung war Prof. Dr. Roland Mitsche (1903 – 1978). Neben dem Aufbau des Instituts initiierte er unter anderem die folgenden wissenschaftlichen Veranstaltungen: Internationale Metallographie-Tagungen in Leoben, Internationale Leichtmetall-Tagungen in Leoben bzw. Wien und das jährliches Metallkunde-Kolloquium am Arlberg. Weiters zeichnete er sich durch seine Liebe zu Kunst, Kultur und Sport aus. Er war einer der Gründungsväter des damaligen Instituts für Bildungsförderung und Sport (IBUS) an der Montanuniversität und der künstlerischen Wettbewerbe. Prof. Mitsche emeritierte 1973, leitete aber das Institut als Kurator noch zwei weitere Jahre ehe 1975 sein Nachfolger das Amt antrat. Im Jahr 1973 wurden am Institut zwei Abteilungen, nämlich für Metallographie sowie für Werkstoffprüfung eingerichtet, welche bis zum Inkrafttreten des Universitätsorganisationsgesetzes 1993 bestanden.

Prof. Dr. Hellmut Fischmeister

Im Jahr 1975 trat Prof. Dr. Hellmut Fischmeister (geb. 1927) die Nachfolge von Prof. Mitsche an. Prof. Fischmeister war zuvor Metallkunde-Professor an der Chalmers Technischen Hochschule in Göteborg, Schweden, gewesen. Er setzte vor allem neue Akzente auf den Gebieten der quantitativen Metallographie, der Pulvermetallurgie, der Bruchmechanik und der Entwicklung von Hochtemperaturwerkstoffen. Im Jahr 1981 nahm Prof. Fischmeister den Ruf als Direktor des Max-Planck-Institutes für Metallforschung in Stuttgart an.

Prof. Dr. Franz Jeglitsch

Prof. Dr. Franz Jeglitsch (1934-2016) war zunächst Leiter der Abteilung für Metallographie am Institut für Metallkunde und Werkstoffprüfung, dann wissenschaftlich-technischer Direktor und Geschäftsführer des Österreichischen Forschungszentrums Seibersdorf, ehe er 1980 Vorstand des Instituts für Technologie und Hüttenkunde der Nichteisenmetalle an der Montanuniversität wurde. Mit Juni 1982 wurde er schließlich als Professor an das Institut für Metallkunde und Werkstoffprüfung berufen. Prof. Jeglitsch war von 1987–1991 Rektor der Montanuniversität und von 1991 bis 2000 als Abgeordneter zum Steirischen Landtag vor allem für Fragen der Forschung und die Industrieregion Obersteiermark zuständig.

Prof. Dr. Karl Maurer

Für kurze Zeit wurde die Institutsleitung von Prof. Dr. Karl Maurer (1927 - 2014) wahrgenommen, der bis zu seinem Übertritt in den Ruhestand mit Ende 1992 Leiter der Abteilung für Werkstoffprüfung war und sich vor allem durch seine Tätigkeit in der Schadensanalyse einen Namen machte.

Prof. Dr. Albert Kneißl

Nach der Emeritierung von Prof. Jeglitsch mit 30.9.2002 wurde Prof. Dr. Albert Kneißl (geb. 1952) für kurze Zeit Institutsvorstand. Prof. Kneißl wurde 1996 zum Professor für das Fachgebiet Metallographie ernannt und beschäftigte sich vor allem mit der Erstarrung monotektischer Legierungen unter terrestrischen sowie Weltraumbedingungen, mit mikrolegierten Stählen sowie mit Formgedächtnislegierungen. In den Jahren 2000 bis 2003 war er 1. Vize-Rektor und Stellvertreter des Rektors an der Montanuniversität. Professor Kneißl trat mit Ende September 2012 in den Ruhestand. In der Amtszeit von Prof. Kneißl wurde mit 1. 1.2003 das Institut in das Department Metallkunde und Werkstoffprüfung mit den Lehrstühlen für Metallkunde und metallische Werkstoffe sowie für Metallographie umgewandelt.

 

Prof. Dr. Helmut Clemens

Als Nachfolger von Prof. Jeglitsch trat Prof. Dr. Helmut Clemens (geb. 1957) mit Juli 2003 seinen Dienst als Professor für Metallkunde und metallische Werkstoffe an der Montanuniversität sowie als Leiter des Departments an. Prof. Clemens war bei der Fa. Metallwerk Plansee in Reutte erfolgreich mit der Entwicklung intermetallischer Werkstoffe (Titanaluminide) beschäftigt, ehe er als Professor an die Universität Stuttgart und später als Direktor und Professor an das Forschungszentrum Geesthacht bei Hamburg berufen wurde. In der Amtszeit von Prof. Clemens siedelte das Department in ein neues Gebäude, dem IZW (Impulszentrum für Werkstoffe).

Prof. Dr. Christian Mitterer

Mit 1.3.2011 wurde der Lehrstuhl Funktionale Werkstoffe und Werkstoffsysteme als dritter Lehrstuhl dem Department zugeordnet. Auf diesen Lehrstuhl wurde Prof. Dr. Christian Mitterer (geb. 1962) berufen, der sich mit der Funktionalisierung von Oberflächen von Werkzeugen sowie Komponenten für Automobil, Luftfahrt, Display- und Energietechnik mit Hilfe von plasmaunterstützten Beschichtungsverfahren beschäftigt. Prof. Mitterer war vorher als Universitätsdozent für Oberflächentechnik dem Lehrstuhl Metallkunde und metallische Werkstoffe zugeordnet.

Prof. Dr. Ronald Schnitzer

Im Jahr 2015 wurde dem Department der Lehrstuhl für Stahldesign im Rahmen einer von der FFG und der österreichischen Stahlindustrie geförderten Stiftungsprofessur zugewiesen. Auf diesen Lehrstuhl wurde mit 1.1.2016 Prof. Dr. Ronald Schnitzer (geb. 1981) berufen, der vorher als Leiter des  Departments  Research  and Development der voestalpine Böhler Welding Austria tätig war.