Header Bild

Department Physical Metallurgy and Materials Testing

Endowed Professorship and Chair of Design of Steels – BMVIT Professorship for Industry

Design and Development of steels of the 21st century – starting from the atomic structure

Prof. Ronald Schnitzer

On the 1 st of January 2016 a new Chair of Design of Steels at the Department of Physical Metallurgy and Materials Testing was established. The Chair was founded within the framework of the FFG initiative “Production of the future” and its main research interests are directed towards developments of modern high performance steels. A special focus is put on applied fundamental research in a close collaboration with industry following current needs and state-of-the-art trends. To achieve these goals, an extensive characterization by means of modern high-resolution analytical methods is undertaken. The Chair has been integrated in the lecturing and exercise activities of the Materials Science and Metallurgy study programme. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Ronald Schnitzer has been appointed as a new Professor of the Chair of Design of Steels.

With about 1.6 billion tons produced per year, steel is still the most important construction material. Research and development of novel high performance steels will significantly contribute to the key subjects of the 21 st century, such as sustainability, reduction of CO 2 emissions, energy saving and recycling. The objectives of the Chair of Design of Steels are development of new and optimization of existing high performance steels, for which an integrative approach including new alloying concepts for steels and their energy-efficient production is adopted. In addition, the existing applications in the automotive industry, the energy conversion and distribution as well as traffic and transportation are taken into account. Regarding the automotive industry, the trend towards lightweight construction with an additional increase in personal safety are the driving forces for the development of new advanced high strength steels. Strength and toughness should be increased at the same time, and hence push the limits of the technological capabilities as far as possible. For applications with such requirements, new steels with improved chemical, physical and mechanical properties are necessary. Therefore, comprehensive knowledge of the metallurgical manufacturing processes, the processing procedures such as forging and rolling, the alloy design, the structure-property relationship as well as the actual applications of steels is required.

Application example: Investigation of the atomic structure of high performance materials

Atom probe tomography is one of the methods with the highest resolution which can be applied for developing and gaining understanding of modern high performance materials (see Figure 1). Thereby, it is possible to examine materials at the very atomic level, which considerably contributes to the understanding of the structure-property relationship and is indispensable for the development of new steels. Figure 2 depicts an exemplary result of an atom probe measurement. A special attention has to be paid to the lengthscale lying in the nanometer range (1 nm = 10 -6 mm). Each red dot represents a single detected Fe atom. The blue spherical particles visualize precipitates in the material, which are in this case enriched in Ni and Al. A precise alloy design allows to control the number, the particle density, distance and chemical composition of these precipitates. These directly influence the mechanical properties, such as tensile strength and elongation of the steel. Thus, the properties and applicability of materials can be tailored using knowledge and modification of the atomic structure.

Figure 1: Atom probe tomography: detection of the atomic structure
Figure 2: Exemplary result of an atom probe measurement

The steel design shall be supported by the use of simulation and modeling tools which will be applied in addition to experimental and analytical methods. This requires a strong interdisciplinary cooperation of the new Chair with other materials-related Departments and Chairs of the Montanuniversität Leoben. The research activities of the new Chair should contribute to the achievement, reinforcement and expansion of the technological leadership of the domestic steel producing and processing companies and ensure production sites in Austria. Although the Montanuniversität already possesses state-of-the-art equipment for materials characterization, additional investments in characterization techniques particularly suitable for steel research are planned in the framework of this endowed professorship. The newly founded Chair receives funds through the FFG, the industry and the Montanuniversität Leoben. One of the most important cooperation partners from the industrial side is the leading Austrian steel-based company voestalpine.

Header Bild

Department Metallkunde und Werkstoffprüfung

Stiftungsprofessur und Lehrstuhl für Stahldesign – BMVIT Professur für Industrie

Entwicklung der Stähle des 21. Jahrhunderts – beginnend beim atomaren Aufbau

Prof. Ronald Schnitzer

Mit 1. Jänner 2016 wurde der neue Lehrstuhl für Stahldesign am Department Metallkunde und Werkstoffprüfung der Montanuniversität Leoben etabliert. Der im Rahmen der FFG-Initiative "Production of the Future" gegründete Lehrstuhl wird seinen Hauptforschungsschwerpunkt in der Entwicklung moderner Hochleistungsstähle haben. Ein Schwerpunkt dabei soll die Charakterisierung mittels hochauflösender Methoden bilden. Ebenso soll der Lehrstuhl in den laufenden Vorlesungs- und Übungsbetrieb der Studienrichtungen Werkstoffwissenschaft und Metallurgie eingebunden werden. Ein besonderer Fokus soll auf der angewandten Grundlagenforschung in Form von industrienahen Kooperationen und Forschungsprojekten liegen. Die Professur für Stahldesign hat Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Ronald Schnitzer angetreten.

Stahl ist mit weltweit ungefähr 1,6 Milliarden produzierten Jahrestonnen nach wie vor der bedeutendste Konstruktionswerkstoff. Forschung und Entwicklung von Stählen als Hochleistungsmaterial wird endscheidend zu den Schlüsselthemen des 21. Jahrhunderts, wie Nachhaltigkeit, Reduktion von CO 2-Emissionen, Energieeinsparung und Recycling, beitragen. Zielsetzung des Lehrstuhls für Stahldesign ist die Entwicklung von neuen und Optimierung von bestehenden Hochleistungsstählen. Dies soll durch einen neuen integrativen Ansatz gelingen, der neue Legierungskonzepte für Stähle und deren energieeffiziente Produktion beinhaltet. Darüber hinaus sollen bereits die Anwendungen in der Automobilindustrie, der Energieumwandlung und -verteilung und im Verkehr- und Transportwesen beim Stahldesign berücksichtigt werden. In Bezug auf die Automobilindustrie ist beispielsweise der Trend zur Leichtbauweise inklusive der Erhöhung der Personensicherheit einer der treibenden Faktoren für die Entwicklung neuer hochfester Stähle. Dabei sollen die Festigkeit und Zähigkeit zugleich erhöht werden und somit die bisherigen Gesetzmäßigkeiten weiter ausgereizt werden. Für derartige Anwendungen und Anforderungen sind neuartige Stähle mit verbesserten chemischen, physikalischen und mechanischen Eigenschaften erforderlich. Die Basis dafür sind ein umfassendes Verständnis der metallurgischen Herstellprozesse, der Weiterverarbeitungsverfahren, wie Schmieden und Walzen, der Legierungseinstellung, der Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen, als auch der Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Stählen.

Anwendungsbeispiel: Untersuchung des atomaren Aufbaus von Hochleistungswerkstoffen

Eine der hochauflösensten Methoden, die für die Entwicklung und das Verständnis moderner Hochleistungsstähle eingesetzt werden kann, ist die Atomsondentomographie (siehe Bild 1). Mithilfe dieser ist es möglich den atomaren Aufbau von Werkstoffen zu untersuchen und so wesentlich zum, für die Entwicklung neuer Stähle unabdingbarem, Verständnis der Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehung beizutragen. In Bild 2 ist beispielhaft das Ergebnis einer Atomsondenmessung dargestellt. Besonderes Augenmerk ist auf den Maßstab zu legen, der sich im Nanometerbereich (1 nm = 10 -6 mm) befindet. Jeder rote Punkt entspricht einem gemessen Eisenatom. Die blauen rundlichen Teilchen stellen Ausscheidungen im Material dar, die in diesem Fall aus einer Anreicherung von Nickel- und Aluminiumatomen bestehen. Durch die Legierungszusammensetzung kann die Anzahl, die Dichte, der Abstand und die chemische Zusammensetzung dieser Ausscheidungen beeinflusst werden. Diese haben wiederum direkten Einfluss auf die mechanischen Eigenschaften, wie Zugfestigkeit und Dehnung des Stahls. Durch Kenntnis und Modifikation dieses atomaren Aufbaus können somit die Eigenschaften und Anwendungen des Werkstoffs neu definiert werden.

Bild 1: Atomsonde: Detektion des atomaren Aufbaus
Bild 2: Beispielhaftes Ergebnis einer Atomsondenmessung

Unterstützt soll die Stahlentwicklung durch den Einsatz von Simulation- und Modellierungswerkzeugen werden, welche komplementär zu den experimentellen und analytischen Methoden eingesetzt werden. Das erfordert eine starke interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit des neuen Lehrstuhls mit anderen materialbezogenen Instituten und Lehrstühlen der Montanuniversität Leoben. Die Forschungsaktivitäten des neuen Lehrstuhls sollen zur Erreichung, Stärkung und Ausbau des Technologievorsprungs heimischer stahlerzeugender und -verarbeitender Unternehmen beitragen und die Produktionsstandorte in Österreich absichern. Obwohl die Montanuniversität Leoben bereits State-of-the-art Ausstattung im Bereiche der Werkstoffcharakterisierung besitzt, sind im Rahmen der Stiftungsprofessur weitere Investitionen für Charakterisierungsmethoden, die maßgeschneiderte für Stähle sind, geplant. Die Stiftungsprofessur und der neu gegründete Lehrstuhl werden aus Mitteln der FFG, der Industrie und der Montanuniversität Leoben finanziert. Einer der wichtigsten Kooperationspartner aus der Industrie ist der führende österreichische stahlbasierende Technologie- und Sachgüterkonzern voestalpine.